An experiment of sorts

As the title suggests, I performed a bit of an experiment with this particular piece of writing. I was looking through my writing journal (yes, I have a writing journal, don’t judge me) and I realized I hadn’t written any poetry in almost two years. For a long time, poetry was my main outlet of expressing EVERYTHING. Granted, a lot of it wasn’t good but honestly, you don’t learn to write well until you suck for a bit (That’s paraphrased from Maureen Johnson, a young adult novelist :] ).

But, I didn’t want to write a poem for the sake of writing a poem. That would be useless and absolutely no one would benefit from that. I like to think that everything I write has at least one beneficiary (generally myself) and that everything I write has a purpose. So instead of writing something contrived and washed out, I took a dive into the deep end of my mind (not always a pretty place, my friends. Right now, it’s very concerned with Specific Language Impairment) and tried to find something trapped in my head that was itching to come out.

This is what I’ve come up with.

Okay, first things first: this is a very rough FIRST draft. I don’t even know if I’ll ever revisit it. And it is an experiment.

Second: This poem isn’t in poetry format. It’s something called ASL gloss. This is basically the written form of American Sign Language. I started taking ASL almost two years ago and fell in love with the language and the Deaf population. I wanted to write something from their perspective in their language.

Third: I’m sorry if this post is rambling. I’ve had nothing but school on my brain for days and I’m not really sure what’s wrong with me at this point.

Also, a few house keeping things. I THINK that you can subscribe to my posts through the comments section, but I’m not positive about that. If not, I can work something out where I can send out email alerts when ever I update. Let me know what works and I’ll figure it out.

Second thing on the agenda. I’m using Fiction Press to publish all of my stories and poems. The page I’m using is specifically for this blog and it has the same name, so you can search it on there if you need to. I have activated anonymous reviewing since I figure that most of you don’t have/ want to get a Fiction Press account. That works fine for me but I’d love to know who is reviewing, so please leave your name on the comment if you choose to comment that way.

Ok! Back to normal writing blog stuff. As promised, the three things I ensure I’d do on every blog when possible

music: I’ve had the song Falling Slowly (from the movie Once) on repeat for about two hours. But I hit up three different versions of the song (even though they’re barely different) to make myself not feel like I’m obsessed with it.

research frustration level: pretty low since I’m focused on acing my classes first.

fun factoid: um…..uh…… I have no idea. Maybe…..no, that’s no good. OH!….wait, I don’t want you to know that.

Can my fun factoid be that I am undecided on a fun factoid for today?

Here’s the poem itself. It’s called ME HEAR DIFFERENT Leave your thoughts here or on the poem. I’d prefer if you didn’t email me or message them to me, it’ll be easier for me to keep track of what people think if they’re all in one place.

Alright children, enjoy!

Ciao for now!

About Sadaf Ali

My life right now consists of graduate school (with the end goal being a MA in Speech Pathology) and my extreme devotion and love to cookies. All joking aside, God is my guiding force and helps me get through all of my obstacles
This entry was posted in ASL, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An experiment of sorts

  1. Clara says:

    ASL gloss + poetry? Great idea, not only for the benefit of writing from the deaf perspective, but glossing may lend itself to poetic structure in a new and expressive way.

    Also, “Falling Slowly” is an amazing song. Would love to learn it on the piano.

  2. Penpusher says:

    I’m studying ASL too, so I was super excited that you wrote an ASL poem. I had fun signing it and I think you did a good job with the perspective.

Leave a comment