The Hurricane in my Brain

Hello Readers!

I’m glad the poem I wrote was well-received and I’m really glad to get that out of my system. Now, my next project is something I’ve been thinking about for months but I’ve never actually gotten around to writing until now.

This next story is going to be in multiple parts. I’m thinking it’ll probably be in vignettes. It’s definitely not going to be in a chapter format but all of the parts will have one common theme: mental hospitals

Tentative Title: Inside the Loony Bin.

Yeah….I know…..

Okay, so first things first: how I came up with this idea.

Well, despite being a psychology minor, I had never been inside the psych building at my school until very recently when I went to turn in a form. It had rained that day so when I got into the lobby, I was more concerned with getting my umbrella closed than what the place looked like.

And then, I left the lobby and entered One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. All I saw was crisp, white walls and doors lined up in a cookie cutter fashion. There were no windows apart from the doors on each end of the floor and the doors in the front lobby. I was scared to go inside any of the rooms, so I don’t know about them.

As frightened as I was by this crazy (PUN!) place, as soon as I left I couldn’t shake the feeling that this would make a great story.

As much as I wanted to go home and write ASAP, life took control of my brain for a while and I wasn’t able to do anything with it but make occasional notes of what I wanted to happen.

Once, I finally got time to think about it, I had no clue what I wanted: serious or funny? one shot or series?  long or short?

The confusion was not fun. My brain hurt really badly after that.

Eventually, I decided to take it one part at a time, starting with the one I’m working on now, that’s still untitled.

This one (so far at least) is more humorous than serious and not to be taken to seriously. I’m going to have to ask you, dear readers, to suspend disbelief for a while because I am in no way an expert and these are mostly just first drafts. I haven’t spent a ton of time research and I probably won’t do much more than I already have.

Part one’s sort of summary: A teenage boy’s mother is trying to have him admitted for a substance abuse problem. Insanity ensues

However, if you read it and see something I can improve upon, that is very much appreciated and definitely welcome. And please, don’t worry about hurting my feelings. I want/need criticism. Tell me if you hated it. Tell me if you loved it but hated something else about it.

Tell me if I used the wrong your/you’re.

This part should be up soon. I’ll post a link when that happens. Subscribe to posts so that you’ll know when!

Alrighty, wrap-up time:

music: A well done cover of Hey Soul Sister and Anyone Else But You by The Moldy Peaches. Hey, I had to listen to something insane to get in the mood….

research frustration level: meh…mild. Lots of paper work right now and that just blows.

fun factoid: I hate red roses. Not just because I think it’s really superficial for people to think that giving someone something that everyone else says is a romantic, loving gesture is a good idea, but also because they’re ugly. I really think they’re one of the most u attractive flowers ever. If someone wanted to be romantic and loving, they’d find out what the person’s favorite flower is. Not use the universal code for “I’m hot water and I don’t want to be”.

Ciao for Now!

About Sadaf Ali

My life right now consists of graduate school (with the end goal being a MA in Speech Pathology) and my extreme devotion and love to cookies. All joking aside, God is my guiding force and helps me get through all of my obstacles
This entry was posted in Stories, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Hurricane in my Brain

  1. Timothy Fairman says:

    Hey sadz, just leaving a comment so I can be subcribed. DFTBA

Leave a comment